Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-17-2014, 03:22 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2022 20' Basecamp
Missoula , Montana
How about the Hensley Swiftcub?

I've spent WAY more time reading posts about hitch setups than Christmas shopping and this has got to end. I'm brand new to towing after fifteen years of truck campering. We've got a new Flying Cloud 19 on the way. We'll be towing with a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee with a Hemi 8.

Which brings us to the hitch question. Hensley has a deal on right now for the Swiftcub. I can afford it. I'm not rich but I've got the money set aside.

But...My biggest concern is ease of use. According to the guy at Hensely there are enough adjustments on this hitch to handle pretty much any hook-up situation. One of the reasons I've given up on the truck camper setup is the difficulty of loading an unloading the (admittedly huge) camper we had. I do not want to take on another pain in the butt like that.

My driveway is just big enough for the AS. I will almost certainly have to approach the trailer from at least a bit of an angle to hook it up. And, we don't stick to KOAs.

Any experience with this particular hitch? I would also really like to hear from people with alternative options. My budget is really no more than the 1595.00 or so they're asking with free shipping.

Thanks in advance for advice.
cajohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 03:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
You can approach the hookup at an angle to the trailer as long as the hitch head (mounted on the Airstream tongue) is turned to the same angle as your stinger (mounted on your truck).

The Truth is More Important Than the Facts
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 03:53 PM   #3
Vintage Kin

Fort Worth , Texas
How abot the Hensley Swiftcub?

There is at least one other posting on here using that version.