Old 03-05-2014, 09:50 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
Rochester , Minnesota
Hitch/Tow Information Overload!

Hello all you genius Airstream owners!

I am new to all of this towing business and despite reading, what feels like, thousands of posts, I am very confused and would appreciate some assistance.

The TV I have (and keeping for now) is a 2004 Suburban 1500 4WD, 5.3L and 3.73 gear ratio. It is equipped with a HD auxillary cooler according to the dealership I just spoke with (according to VIN). I still do not know what constitutes a HD trailering package, or if it is equipped?!

Specs say (I think!) it will tow 7200 lbs. (possibly 7500?), has a payload capacity of 1654 lbs and a max tongue weight of 600lbs or 1,000 lbs according to the manual. No idea which! For safety, let's assume 600.

What I would like to purchase is either an International 25fb (max GVWR 7300 lbs and Tongue weight of 886), or a 25fb FC twin (same GVWR and TW of 837 lbs).

Sooooo, is this possible with a Hensley? Safety is very important to me and I will consider a bigger TV in perhaps 3 years, but not now. I don't understand what exactly the Hensley does for tongue weight, especially since the Hensley alone seems to weigh about half of what my vehicle says is allowed on its hitch.

Do I need to consider a smaller trailer? Anything I can, or should do, to the factory supplied hitch on the Suburban?

Thanks for any insight! Hubby gave the go ahead last night to purchase and I reaaaaally want to make this quick and painless for him as to not allow him to change his mind!

Old 03-05-2014, 10:08 AM   #2
More noise, less signal

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucaBluPlus2 View Post
Hello all you genius Airstream owners!
Welcome. I'm about 50 miles from Rochester. Perhaps we'll cross paths.

Quote: