Old 05-11-2016, 09:21 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2016 22' Sport
Grays , Illinois
Hitch plugs

I just bought a new airstream 22 Sport. The plug connection with the hitch socket is just making contact and does not seem to really make a snug fit. Of course the flap comes up and holds the plug in, but should it plug in more like a home socket does? I am new to airstream, cannot wait to travel.

Old 05-11-2016, 10:11 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
As long as the plug holds and the lights work you are good to go.

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 10:25 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Hi. That flap has a little flange in the back that sort of locks on to a ridge on the cable - the cable only fits in one way (match "bumps and indents" from one side to the other).

I have a Velcro cable tie on the trailer's 7-pin cable so when I lock it in (with that flap locked down over the cable) I wrap them together with the Velcro strap as added security.
Old 05-11-2016, 10:48 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Southwestern , Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Free bird View Post
I just bought a new airstream 22 Sport. The plug connection with the hitch socket is just making contact and does not seem to really make a snug fit. Of course the flap comes up and holds the plug in, but should it plug in more like a home socket does? I am new to airstream, cannot wait to travel.
Welcome to the forums!

I guess I have to agree with the earlier posters that say as long as it's making contact you're OK, but it sounds to me like something isn't right here. I have never had a trailer plug that didn't fit snugly in the socket, taking a pretty good push to go all the way in.