Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-22-2010, 10:18 PM   #1

1989 32' Excella
Benson , North Carolina
Fishtailing Airstream

Hi All,
I am new to the trailer pulling of an Airstream. I have just bought a 1989, 32 ft, Excella and am pulling it with a 02, Chevy,1500 HD with an 6 liter gas engine. I knotice at speeds of about 65 mph the trailer rearend would fishtail and I would have to put on the breaks to stop it. I have an equilizer hitch and was told to was set up right. I went to the locial RV store and they told me to add stableizers bars to both sides of the receiver. Will this hepl? The trailer was not over loaded and most of the weight was in front of the axels. I was also told that a bad wheel bairning could be the problem. Can someone give me some advice on stableizers bars. and what might be my problem?
elzavb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 10:32 PM   #2
Wise Elder

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
With any 30+ foot rig you need sway control.

If you have an equal-i-zer hitch they're supposed to have sway control built in although they are not the most effective hitch in that regard. How sure are you that it is set up right? Do you have the weight distributing bars? Are they the right size? Are they being snapped up tight enough? How do you know? Can you post a photo of your hitch setup so we can see what the deal is with it?

Many people with the larger rigs use high tech hitches, pullrite, hensley, propride. They do make a huge difference in sway.

There are also friction bars, which will help, or you could switch to a Reese dual cam hitch, which will help.
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 11:51 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Fishtailing Airstream

Greetings elzavb!