Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2015, 01:29 PM   #1
Road Geezer

2011 27' FB Flying Cloud
San Jose , California
Do I need a WD hitch?

I have been towing our 27FC for 4 years with a 2001 Suburban. We have a WD hitch that worked fine. Just bought a 2015 Chevy 2500 diesel, standard bed. Its a dream TV. I notice that when I connect the spring bars, that the TV rear end doesn't seem to drop more than an inch or two under full load. The Chevy dealer set the hitch ball to 21.5" inches off level ground. When the trailer's level, the chains are cinched up very little, barely tight at all. We've taken a couple long trips and the ride is smooth, much smoother than the in the Sub with chains cinched up to level the read end. I just took a short trip without the spring bars and could not tell the difference. The spring bars are rated a 1k#. My AS's rated tongue weight is 700#.

I read the truck's owners manual and it says that using a WD hitch is optional for a trailer of my weight, roughly 7k#.

So here's my question. With my TV, is there any reason I have to use the spring bars? I'm happy either way; but not using them is just one less thing to do. I'll continue using the sway bar.

Id appreciate your comments / advice.
Respect Each Other
Road Geezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 01:41 PM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
I would continue to use the weight distribution bars on your hitch. Without transferring some of the tongue weight to the front wheels of the tow vehicle, it may get a little light in the front which could diminish your steering control.