Old 02-09-2015, 07:37 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2005 25' Safari
Stanwood , Washington
Do I have the right hitch??

I just purchased a 2005 25' Safari, and it came with an Easyrider AR20 Class V air hitch. I have never seen this type hitch before. I towed it home and the trailer rode great. I am wondering if I have the right hitch and if this hitch has sway control. It appears to have weight distributing bars, and they attach with chains, but don't think they will control sway. I have a 2015 1500 Silverado with a trailer package, so I think I have an ok towing rig.
I am new to Airstreams and we are excited about camping in it. Thanks for your help.

dfschultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 08:25 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
1994 34' Excella
Warren , Manitoba
I did a search on the web for the companym but it looks like they are out of business. There are several makers of this type of hitch, however, I have not used one. On this forum you will find that many people have opinions on different brands of hitches. Some are very vocal that their brand of hitch is "the only one to have". I believe that you purchase what you can afford, and use what you are comfortable with. If you get a bad experience try something else. Chris

WBCCI #7394
2002 Chev 2500 HD Duramax
1976 31' Gone but fondly remembered
CBWELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 08:31 PM   #3
2005 25' Safari
Beaverton , Oregon
The right hitch

Interesting hitch you have, on my 2005 Safari, I use a Reese Class V hitch rated at 12,000 lbs...1200lbs tongue weight. For weight distribution it used trunnion bars with chains. I usually don't need any additional sway control most of the time and if I feel I need it, I have a EAZ-lift sway control device that works pretty well. I'm sure you'll get lots of advice from others as everyone has their favorite setup. Good luck!

aliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 08:54 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari
Fort Myers , Florida