Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-10-2018, 12:47 PM   #1

2017 19' Flying Cloud
Greensboro , North Carolina
Blue OX Replacement Wrench

Please forgive if this ? has already been answered. I'm a total newbie! I have the Blue Ox Sway Pro for my 19C and F-150. The guys who installed the B-OX said I have to be VERY CAREFUL when I release the anti-sway bars because I might "break my leg!" So I've figured out how to release them by lifting all the pressure off the hitch and I actually pull the pin out with a hammer so I'm far away from those chains when they fly off. I would like to replace the B-OX wrench with something that keeps me FAR AWAY when I release but I know ZIP about tools. What exactly should I get to replace that wrench? Thanks in advance for your help!
nataliekel1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 02:00 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
The tool that comes with the Blue Ox SwayPro is pretty basic and I have never used mine. I purchased a 1" socket and a 20" breaker bar at a discount tool store before I had the hitch installed. They have worked well for me.

If you raise the trailer jack up high enough there is no snapping of the chains and hooking up is a piece of cake. Without raising the jack you need to apply a significant amount of force to install the bars.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 02:08 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
That tip pretty much applies to any hitch system that uses the snap-over chain brackets for tensioning.