Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-26-2013, 06:11 PM   #1

Greenwich , Connecticut
3/4 Ton. Any need WD hitch?

Hi All,

After years of watching my parents motor all over with their various RV's, I have purchased a used 2006 28 CCD. I have extensive experience towing with a 3/4 ton and 1 ton and care to continue with that as a personal choice. Despite towing weights far greater than the AS with both, I've never towed anything further than 500 miles roundtrip and have simply never used a WD setup.

Is there any benefit to doing so with a heavy truck? I would love to hear feedback from anyone who has a similar setup with the heavier trucks and newer heavier Airstreams. Not hoping to start a debate between 1500/2500/3500 but would definitely appreciate some anecdotal and any technical implications of using WD with a 3/4 or 1 ton truck.

Cheers!
Derek
derekfitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:20 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2004 31' Classic
lubbock , Texas
Absolutely ... Don't leave home without it ... Better safe than sorry ... Any length, any tow vehicle .
jump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 06:47 PM   #3
Rivet Master

I tow a relatively light (6300 gvw) Airstream and use an Equalizer weight distributing hitch with a 3/4 ton vehicle (diesel Excursion).
Reasons for using one are as follows. You will exceed your hitch and receiver weight ratings without one. The hitch and receiver ratings are 500 pounds tongue weight and 5000 pounds trailer weight without the weight distributing hitch. Airstreams have a heavy tongue weight maybe 700 to 800 pounds.
I have hooked my trailer up without spring bars to take it short distances and notice quite a bit of rear end sag. I could get air bags or helper springs but why do that when a weight distributing hitch will solve the problem for less $$?