Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-15-2016, 12:10 PM   #1

Kennebunk , Maine
2016 Honda Pilot Elite - Safe towing vehicle for a 16' Sport?

Hello, folks! A newbie here to Airstream travel and towing. My wife and I are very interested in learning as much as we can about Airstreams, towing, and proper TVs for towing Airstreams.

We are most interested in investing our money in the following:

-2016 Honda Pilot Elite (5,000 pound towing capacity)
-16' Airstream Sport

Looking at the specs sheet of the 16' Airstream, and knowing that our auto's add-on weights (us, luggage, et cetera) would be around 500 pounds, we figure an Elite's true towing capacity would be more in the 4500 pound range.

My questions:

1) Would 4500 pounds be "enough" to safely tow an Airstream Sport 22' safely and maneuverably through mountain passes and elevation changes? We are all about safety and want to have the chance at traveling safely across the United States.

2) Should we consider a TV with a higher tow rating capacity?
dad love mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 12:47 PM   #2
Dazed and Confused

Currently Looking...
1983 31' Airstream310
Hillsburgh , Ontario
While certain people feel you shouldn't tow any Airstream unless it's an American 3/4 ton P/U, IMHO you would have no problems towing with a Honda Pilot. A properly set up hitch with anti sway, and an oil/transmission cooler would be helpful, if not necessary.

Go to town and enjoy.
Cheers
tony

“It’s a recession when your neighbor loses his job; it’s a depression when you lose your own.” "Harry S Truman"
Isuzusweet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 12:47 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Vintage Kin Owner
N/A , N/A