Old 03-11-2014, 09:04 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2008 30' Classic
West Des Moines , Iowa
2011 Chevy 2500HD factory brake controller

Hi all newbie here and need some advice. We just purchased our first AS last fall and also updated the TV. The AS is 1000 miles away and in storage waiting to come home. I've learned here that my factory brake controller will not work with the disks brakes on the AS, and that some folks have wired a set of magnets as a work around for the IBC system. I really don't want to buy an aftermarket controller unless I have to. (My time will be limited when i get there and need to have all my ducks in a row.) So my question is can someone show me how they wired in this configuration and what I need to do to make it work. My search has only come up with that you splice a pair of magnets somewhere. Thanks in advance to all.

TinTop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 10:13 AM   #2
Well Preserved

1974 31' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Put a pair of magnets in parallel in the blue brake wire line. That will fool,the controller into working.
The way you do it is to take one wire from each magnet and splice into the blue wire, and the other wire from each magnet goes to ground.

Old 03-11-2014, 12:08 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

2008 30' Classic
West Des Moines , Iowa
Thanks so much 63. Blue for brake control and white for ground. Where do you suggest mounting the magnets and tieing in at? I would think not on the truck side, and I assume before the actuater, and what size magnets were used. I see that there is different Ohms between the 7in and 10in and 12in.
Old 03-11-2014, 01:57 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic S/O
Somewhere , South Carolina
Terry,

I think I understand the "fooler magnets" but wow, why should you have too? The Chevy doesn't have a setting, ouch.

Gary
Old 03-11-2014, 01:58 PM   #5
Rivet Master

2008 34' Classic S/O
Common Sense , Texas