Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Cruiser > 1950 - 1958 Cruiser
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-07-2011, 07:02 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1954 26' Romany Cruiser
Asheville , NC
Crimmins' '54 Cruiser

Hey all,

I have been lurking on the forum for many months now. I was introduced to airstreams by my brother Chris (chriscrimmin on the forums) who owns a 1964 Overlander. I somehow got roped in to helping him on his little project there, and somehow was forced to stay in it a many a nights....so I fell in love. I caught Aluminitus (Sp?, I'm no doctor) and have been looking for a cure for a while now. Last week we drove down to Atlanta and rescued a 1954 Cruiser whaletail. I plan on going full time in the thing starting May 16th, so as you will see in the pictures it need a good deal of work! I wish I had the time and resources for a full restore, but right now I will just get it to a very nice usable condition (aka the floor and shell will stay intact) and in five to ten years she will get the full treatment. I am relying on my brother's knowledge, and also the forums' to guide me on this adventure. It doesn't need to be perfect, but very livable by May 16th.

I will be posting some updates and pictures to the forums, by most of the updates will be going to airstreamfever.com I will be coming to you all for advice and input.

So here she is, feel free to give me any feedback you can think of. I will say there is a medium size tear on the street side that I could not get a good picture of do to the parking arrangement. Just know that it is going to need a serious patch/replacement of skin over there.

Thanks

Ten Year of difference...
AndrewM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:41 AM   #2
Rivet Master