Old 08-22-2011, 01:41 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1975 Argosy 24
Astoria , New York
Our New Argosy!

Greetings!
We are the proud new owners of a 1974 24 ft Argosy.
This is our first trailer of any kind, we are total newbies, and these forums were a huge help in deciding what we should look for.

My husband and I are musicians (www.thewhisperingtree.com)and in order to reduce our expenses and make touring for economically feasible, we decided to leave our apartment and live full time in a trailer. This may sound extreme, but we figure at the very least it will be fun! We're used to roughing it, so the size shouldn't be much of an issue - and we figure we will try to stay south in the winter.

We had been looking for an Airstream for about five months.
We knew we wanted an Airstream - and after seeing an Argosy for the first time, we refined our search

We drove ten hours to Ohio to look at it and it was love at first sight. This trailer was in FAR better condition (and cheaper) than any of the other airstreams we had visited. We didn't have much of a budget and the other ones we had visited all had that musty, grimy feel to them; this one was odorless and clean! The previous owner put a lot of love and care into it and was actually sad to see it go. He had sanded and repainted the exterior, put down linoleum flooring and had re-done all the curtains and upholstery, the brakes and tires are fairly new also. The only issue (that we know of) is that we need to change the water heater - which is turning out to be more of an ordeal to than we had imagined. It also doesn't have an AC, which we will definitely have to invest in at some point. The previous owner had mentioned some sagging in the belly pan under the bathroom - he reinforced it with some metal strips (see pic)...not sure what this means. There doesn't seem to be any rear sag/separation.