Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Argosy Trailers > All Argosy Trailers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-08-2013, 10:19 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1974 Argosy 28
N Manchester , Indiana
Newbie needs help!

As the title suggests, I am a newbie, and I mean new to campers, not just to Argosy. I have always been fond of the painted Airstreams that I have seen, and when given the opportunity to acquire one recently I decided that I wanted to jump in and make it mine. It is a 28 foot twin rear bath manufactured August of 1973. I will be taking it one step at a time, with the first priority being to seal it for the coming winter, but I need some info from the talented people that I have read on these forums. First, as a newbie, I know nothing about the electrical system in an Argosy and need to know how to check the electrical (120 and 12 volt?) systems so that I can have light and power to start my preliminary checks. Please advise how I need to do that. I will be eternally grateful. I hope to post pictures as I travel through this journey. Thank you in advance.
olddad8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
I believe the 28' Argosy is very similar to my 26' Argosy. Both being '74 models.
You should find a 30 amp 120 volt power cord in the trunk. The cord and plug should be inspected closely to make sure it is safe to plug in.
The 120 volt AC to 12 volt DC converter (univolt) will be located under the bathroom vanity with access thru the closet. You should also find the 120 volt AC power panel in the same space. Mounted on the outside wall.
The battery compartment is in the same vicinity with access thru an outside hatch.