Old 01-21-2012, 08:26 PM   #1

2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
My Argosy wants to keep its old furnace

So, I have a Suburban NT22C whose serial number tells me that it's potentially deadly. Since I'm not a big fan of inhaling carbon monoxide, I thought I'd modernize a bit. I studied up on the differences between the current NT20S and NT22, read lots of threads on replacing NT22s with modern furnaces, found a deal on an essentially new NT20S, etc.

What did I *NOT* do until today, as I sat on the floor of the Argosy to lay out the work I thought I'd be starting tomorrow? I didn't make sure the bloody thing would come OUT without disassembling my galley.

The case of the killer NT22C is 14" wide. The opening of the cabinet door is 13 1/2" wide. I cursed enough that the designer's grandkids' ears were probably burning. The center post between the cabinet doors is riveted in, and those are DOUBLE-blind rivets... pop rivets in where I need a mirror to see them, and the upper 4 have a 4" deep tray blocking drill access from the back.

At this point, it looks to me like this will require removing the entire lower galley. I'd be really, really happy for someone to prove me wrong!

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:33 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 30' Classic
... , ...
Ha - that's exactly what I was trying to do before I found myself ... In a complete shell off restore!!!!

FYI, now would be a good time to change out the counter top of your galley, if you wanted..

Old 01-21-2012, 08:45 PM   #3

2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by GetOutDoors View Post
Ha - that's exactly what I was trying to do before I found myself ... In a complete shell off restore!!!!