Old 10-11-2006, 11:44 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Escondido , California
Is it just wrong to strip paint?

I'm new to this. . . I love AirStreams and an Argosy is for sale down the street. I just can't seem to deal with the paint. I really love the aluminum look but after having read about the Argosy, they seem to have some really great qualities. I just don't think it is the paint. I am probably just hung up on my idea of what an AirStream should look like, but I didn't know they ever painted them so it hasn't sunk in yet.

I know if it is stripped of the paint, the end caps will never be shiny. From a practical end of things, I know the stripping etc. can be dealt with.

From all of you, who have an Argosy, is it just wrong to want to strip it? Am I just ignorant and unnaccepting of the true beauty of an Argosy, or have any of you stripped them and found beauty?

Old 10-11-2006, 11:53 AM   #2
RivetAddict

1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Louisville , Kentucky
A number of folks have stripped and polished Argosys and simply painted the galvanzied end caps...just take a look at the argosy on this site (left side of homepage)

http://www.thepolishingguru.com/

Of course, this took a looooooot of work but it shows what is possible.

swebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 01:01 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Escondido , California
Holy cow! The Argosy on the Polishing Guru website was beautiful. . . and Riverside is very close to where I live. I might need to get a second job (okay a first job would help) to pay for it or just use all of my spare "retired" time to do it myself!

Thanks for the info.
Old 10-11-2006, 01:39 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1975 Argosy 26
1963 24' Tradewind
Seattle , Washington
I know, my dream gal....

is on that Polishing Guru's site. Unbelievable. However, you don't have to spend an arm and a leg to get close. Read up on the forums under "polish" - there's a lot out there to suggest.