Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2017, 09:15 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1979 Argosy Minuet 7.3 Metre
tulsa , Oklahoma
Cabinet help...

I plan on building new cabinets for my minuet.. DO i use wood for everything? Does someone make cabinets i can buy? Is there a frame layout I can buy for the upper cabinets? Sorry for all the questions, I consider myself somewhat handy but this is my first time working on an RV and I would rather ask the Pros before I give it a go.
chudv23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 10:38 AM   #2
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

Have you ever done cabinetry before? If not, how well are you set up for woodworking? You can indeed "learn by doing". It will take a while and there will be a two steps forward, one step back part of the process.

I would use wood for everything, but that's a personal preference. There are indeed some pretty fancy alternative materials out there. Custom cut aluminum is one I think about from time to time. Do up a design. Then work up the CAD drawings, send them off and back comes your "kit" for a cabinet. Sounds like way more work than I'm up for

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 02:35 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1966 17' Caravel
Currently Looking...
Las Cruces , New Mexico