Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Argosy Trailers > All Argosy Trailers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-14-2005, 06:31 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

"86" 29' Argosy?

I am going to look at a 86'' 29' Argosy. I'm not that sure what I am going see. I don't know anything about these TT's. First of all I am new to the camper market (apporximately 1 month). I don't know that much about them. What I do know is I want an Airstream. I don't know the differance between the two. I would like to start there. Second I have a need to know about axles, tires etc... I come from the houseboating lifestyle so I have a working knowlege of the 12V DC and 120V AC electrical, black, gray and fresh water systems. Any help would be appreciated. Thank You, Gary Simon
Duramax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 06:40 PM   #2
Rivet Monster

1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Hi Gary,
Welcome to the boards...The 86 model Argosy is not the rounded top "Airstream" style it is what was referred to as the "Squarestream" Check out THIS link for a lot of pictures of Argosys. The two main differences between Argsoys and Airstreams...Argosys are painted and typically the interior appointments are supposedly not as luxurious as the Airstreams. There are a multitude of Argosy owners on here and they will be glad to ask specfic questions. The general information on axles, appliances and the like are pretty much the same for the Argosy and the Airstream. Use the search function at the top of the page, enter a broad term like "axle replacement" and be prepared to read for the next week or two

Aaron
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote