Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-30-2014, 08:57 PM   #1
AZArgosyGuy

77 Argosy 26 T- Major Shock problem

Spent an hour on the phone with my local (125 miles) Airstream dealer about the shock problem on my 77 Argosy 26T. I cannot remove the shocks from the trailer. When you loosen the nut, it bottoms against the steel angle and you cannot use a prybar for extra room, there is none and the flange won't move. The dealer's tech svcs guy said that he was not familiar with the trailer but based on the photos I sent from my phone, he thought the only way to change the shocks was to drop the axles off the trailer, change the shocks and rehang them. I can't believe that Airstream/Argosy would design a trailer suspension like that. I am a decent mechanic, having rebuilt my first engine at 17. There has got to be a way to do this but I am still in shock (no pun intended) and am just not seeing it. PLEASE HELP!! I should have the photos available tomorrow for upload here.
bobbyg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 09:52 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
It's been a while since I installed new axles on my '74 Argosy 26'. I believe you will have to drop the axle to get the shock off.
Are you dealing with the original or old axles? If so, they are probably frozen in place. Otherwise they would drop down far enough to get the shock off.

Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 10:00 PM   #3
AZArgosyGuy