Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Sovereign > 1974 - 1979 Sovereign
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-13-2009, 06:45 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2005 16' International CCD
Austin , Texas
Pre-purchase inspection

I'm about to purchase a '74 International Sovereign. After months of searching, this one came up at the right price. I would like to know what items I should check and inspect in Airstreams in general, and for this year and model.

It has the rear bath with a double bed in the center. Also has awnings on individual windows, not one giant awning across the front.

I am totally new to Airstreams, but have learned a ton just by reading the forums. Would love some input from the experienced.

One more thing, I plan to take this on a 5 to 6 month roadtrip. Hopefully you have some advice of what I need to certainly have checked out for such a trip.
adwriter73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 09:09 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Pre-purchase inspection

Greetings adwriter73!

Quote:
Originally Posted by adwriter73 View Post
I'm about to purchase a '74 International Sovereign. It has the rear bath with a double bed in the center. Also has awnings on individual windows, not one giant awning across the front.
Your best resource is the Airstream Trailer Checklist found here on the Airforums. This checklist is comprehensive and contains all systems that should be considered regardless of the coach's age.