Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-20-2016, 08:29 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Loretto , Tennessee
89 25' Newbie

Hello,

Just purchased my first RV and trying to learn everything I can about it. I'm new to the RV experience.

I have a 2003 Expedition 5.4L 2WD with tow package. I used my drop hitch (I think it is 6") to get her home but I'm sure the trailer didn't ride as level as it needs to. I have not been able to measure anything yet. If anyone is using this tow vehicle, I'd appreciate any advice you have on the correct hitch. This vehicle has an extremely high (distance from ground) hitch receiver.
Old 02-15-2016, 09:47 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Loretto , Tennessee
Lesson Learned #1

My original post may be out of place a bit. There is a separate sub-forum for tow vehicles and hitches. Thought I'd document lesson's learned since I am a newbie and it is raining outside today .

Situation: Even after the batteries had been on shore power for several days, the battery indicator (above the stove) would immediately drop to 1/2 after disconnecting from shore power. I didn't inspect the batteries when I purchased it. When I inspected the trailer, the PO had it setup boondock style. The lights worked. The refrigerator worked. He said the batteries were older but still worked. I didn't ask further.