Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-03-2004, 01:05 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

looking to get a 16' CCD

Hello all,

I am new to airstreams and have a couple questions. Just as a little history, I’ve been camping all my life in VW Camper Vans. My wife and I currently own an’88 Westy that is in need of a new engine. So, I assumed either a new engine or a new VW, but I saw the Airstream, specifically the CCD. After thinking about the ease of a trailer (no 3rd vehicle, leave the TT @ the campground, more room, air conditioning, hot water, self contained, etc, etc) I am committed to getting an AS, as other TT do not interest me. In fact I’ve decided on a 16’ CCD. Now, I tell you the above, because after reading many forums I know lots of folks will tell me I need a bigger TT, but you see the 16’ Bambi will be huge compared to my VW and will work for our weekend and vacation style traveling. We want something very easy to pull (never pulled a TT before), park, and will sit in our 3rd driveway w/o dwarfing our house. We have decided the Bambi is perfect. Now I have a few questions for you experts out there:

1. Towing: the most asked question on these forums! I have yet to buy my tow vehicle and w/ the 16’ CCD in mind I have become pretty interested in a 2001 4Runner (the V6 model w/ towing package). The 5000’ towing ability seems to leave enough “cushion” for the 3500’ GVWR Bambi. Does that seem correct to you? Other vehicles I’ve checked out (Isuzu Rodeo for one) all have at least 1000lbs more capacity than the weight of the Bambi. With a good weight distrb. hitch do my plans seem on track? FYI: this will be my wife’s car and she does not want a truck or a giant SUV (Expedition, Suburban, etc)