Old 11-27-2013, 06:18 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
DeFuniak Springs , Florida
Talking 58 Year Old Rookie... Elec. Specs. and Advice

I am a 2 week old rookie looking to get started. I have ordered a manual, but can't wait to get started. Would anyone mind sending me a copy of the electrical specifications for a 73' 31ft center bath. I have so many ideas but I have to control myself before jumping in. Also, a step by step general list from beginning to end would be appreciated (you might say, the chapters of my adventure). Thanks Dwight

Old 11-27-2013, 07:36 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Obrien , Florida
Hey Dwight, my step by step list consisted of only two steps; 1. Stop all leaks. 2. Fix everything else...

I'm sure somebody will come up with one right after I post this, but a step by step is really going to depend on your trailer, and how much you're wanting to do. Full Monty, frame off resto, or just fix what's broke and go camping. My starting point was fix leaks first because they were the source of the majority of my repair, rotted frame/floor. After that, things just kind of lined themselves up by systems... In removing the floor, I had to remove the water heater, which had to be replaced, which pointed me to the plumbing that had multiple splits in it, so I replaced all the water lines, when I got those replaced and ran some water into the shower, it all ran into the belly pan, so I took the rest of the belly pan off to see what was up, and the shower trap wasn't connected, so when I got that hooked up and ran water into the gray tank, it continuously flowed on out the drain, so I replaced the valves, which allowed the gray tank to start filling, which showed a crack in the gray tank drain neck... At least the electric system hasn't shorted and burned the trailer to the dirt, but I'm sure that's coming.

All of those were part of a floor/frame repair. It's a much more extensive list than that, but you get the idea.