Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Sovereign > 1970 - 1973 Sovereign
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-17-2017, 08:11 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1972 31' Sovereign
Charleston , South Carolina
1973 31 Foot Airstream Sovereign

This is my first attempt at posting on this forum, in fact it's the first time I've ever posted on any forum.

I recently bought a 1973 31 Foot Airstream Sovereign for $75.00. I think I want to move it to some property I recently bought on a coastal South Carolina island and turn it into a tiki bar, on a small hummock on the property overlooking the marsh. It is in rough shape with a couple of dents that I'm sure can be beat out, a couple of small bullet holes I hope can be repaired, and three broken windows and no interior. I priced the 3 windows and they are over 20 times what I paid for the trailer. I may try to put my own upscale interior in it, polish it up and tow it around, but I will probably stick with the plan to make it a tiki bar. I have not tried to move it yet because it needs new tires. The wheels are rusted so I've been dousing the lug nuts with WD-40.

If anyone has any advice on tiki hut -vs- restoration, please let me know.
pat356jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 09:04 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1977 Argosy 28
Fallon , Nevada
Big Job Ahead

1. WD-40 is a lousy lubricant and even worse as penetrating oil. Acetone mixed 50-50 with automatic transmission fluid is the old standby.