Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Sovereign > 1970 - 1973 Sovereign
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-24-2017, 05:42 PM   #1

1972 31' Sovereign
Athens , Georgia
1972 Full remodel

Hi everyone!

My girlfriend(Juliet) and I just bought a 72 off craigslist. We are planning on remodeling it into a full time living airstream. We are both in school, I am studying Emerging Technologies, Juliet is studying nursing. I build props, sets, and prototypes for events, photos, and some commercials/movies, so I have a background of building.

The seller inherited it after his brother-in-law passed. The brother-in-law acquired it and (according to the sellers limited knowledge) put in a new floor, cabinets, electrical, shower, and toilet with some plumbing. I'd love to say he did a fantastic job on it all, but he cut all kinds of corners and we want to check what work we cannot see yet.

Upon our first exterior inspection, we noticed some dents and holes that have been filled with silicon. On the belly there are multiple parts that have been scabbed over and a good bit of rust. I was wondering if I should start first on the belly looking at the frame for places that need to be fixed or if I should start by pulling out the plywood floor that the initial owner recently put in?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4080.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	392.9 KB
ID:	278710   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4082.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	317.1 KB
ID:	278711  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4220.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	567.4 KB
ID:	278712  
Wes-Juliet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 07:22 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
Vintage Kin Owner
Vintage Kin Owner
Sunset Valley , Texas
Congratulations!