Old 05-07-2004, 04:55 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
What to look out for in an '85 Excella

I just ran across an 32 foot 85 Excella for sale with an asking price of $7,500. It all appears to "be there" and working, but the trailer is filthy and will take a lot of sweat to make nice.

I'm a novice with Airstreams but am pretty good with my hands. I'm not intimidated by tearing into this thing. I'm thinking of making an offer tomorrow on this unit. What should I look out for? What systems should I test? What are some potential trouble areas I should check?

Any quick help and advice will be much appreciated. Also any opinions on a fair price to pay for a 32 foot 85 Excella. NADA says low retail of $7,230, high retail of $8,710.

bbrackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 05:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1984 31' Excella
Abernathy , Texas
Take an ice pick and check all the inside perimeter of the trailer's floor for any sign of softness which would indicate a chronic leak allowing the plywood to rot from water entering the coach. If carpet, pull back the carpet if you can and see if the floor shows evidence of leaks.
Check the waterheater for signs of rust.
Check the tires and inquire about the bearing's and brake's past maintenance.
Check the axles.
Check the propane system for leaks.
Check the refrigerator to see that it cools.
Check the batteries.
Check the electrical...both 12V and 120V.
Check the furnace and AC.
Check the range.
Hook it up to water and check the plumbing under pressure.
Check the water pump.
Check the lolding tanks to make sure they hold.
Check the dump valves to make sure they work.
That's a good start.....

dscluchfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 07:11 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
I just bought a 1988 Excella 25' and ran across several problems that I had not noticed: