Old 01-03-2005, 02:30 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1984 Excella WHAT?

Would one of you experts out there kindly give me some much-needed information: I recently bought what was purported by the original owner to be a "1984 Excella 34" but have since been informed that it can't be an 84 Excella "34" because it only has two axels, making it an "Excella 32" in his opinion. Supposedly the 34 foot models all have THREE axels. Is this true? If so, do I have a 32 foot, as the well-meaning guy told me after seeing a picture of mine posted on rvsfsbo.com wherein I described it as an Excella 34 as I was told when I bought it, or an Excella 31 foot Airstream as this site seems to imply since the drop-down list doesn't include a 1984 Excella 32 but instead a 31 foot model? I am a total novice at this point with these machines and, while I love them dearly, I know what I don't know and would really appreciate advice on this subject. Thank you ahead of time. Jason Brooks.

Old 01-03-2005, 06:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 31' Sovereign
Texas Airstream Harbor , Zavalla, in the Deep East Texas Piney Woods on Lake Sam Rayburn
Quote:
Originally Posted by muvywrtr
I recently bought what was purported....to be a "1984 Excella 34" but have since been informed that it can't be an 84 Excella "34" because it only has two axels, making it an "Excella 32"...Is this true?...
Welcome to the Forums - the "Search" pulldown within the "Blue" options line is among the best on any Forum site, but you may have to "search" several times using alternative words and spellings - many things Airstream have been discussed here.

Copy your VIN number from your title, then reconfirm it on your ID plate on the trailer. With the confirmed VIN, follow this link - the 7th letter (position) of your serial number will define the length....lots of info is within the VIN.

http://www.airstream.com/airstream/p...e/docs/vin.pdf

As far as I know ALL (and only) 34'ers are triple axels.