Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2005, 04:36 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1993 34' Excella
, Maryland
Tossing my hat in the ring

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie on this forum and to Airstreams. I've had our 1981 31' Excella for about a year now. We are still shaking a couple of the kinks out as we get used to it. We replaced the water heater after our first trip last year (couldn't get it to light, turned out the part it needed was about half the cost of a new heater). I also had the valves on the propane tanks replaced with OPD valves (yes, the correct ones for aluminum tanks).

We took it to the beach a couple weeks ago and are heading for New England a couple weeks from now. I'm looking forward to a few days in Vermont and a couple more in Maine.

Long term plans include replacing the woodwork on the interior. While it is in decent shape it's more of a contact paper finish not real wood. My hobby is woodworking so we are thinking of a cherry interior for now.

I look forward to being able to ask questions from the group. Thanks for listening.

-Alden
Alden Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2005, 04:44 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Huntsville , Alabama
Hi Alden,

Welcome to the forum. My hobby is also woodworking. Cherry will make a wonderful interior. I speak from experience as that is what Airstream chose to use the year my Overlander (International) was made. Keep an eye on member Craftsman: He woodworks for a living, and is quite good at it.

Tom
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2005, 05:25 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Rural, blink and you'll miss it , Missouri
Hi! Welcome! (and I don't have any asnwers...)

Eljay

1968 Tradewind Double.
eljay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2005, 07:27 PM   #4
Craftsman