Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Ambassador > 1966 - 1969 Ambassador
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-03-2007, 12:18 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

concord , California
Red face proud owner of 1968 28' (Ambassador?)

Hello Everyone,
I'm a newbie to this forum...I just bought my very first trailer today. I think I got it for a steal...($1000 a steal?). Don't know much about AS. I am gradually learning due to financial need. My new home REALLY needs a lot of TLC. It had been neglected for 20 years! My plan is to gut out the interior and fix the necessities (put new floor, replace broken windows, fix screen door, etc...)
I read in a thread that there is a "structural integrity to the interior so there are panels that should be left to preserve the interior structure to prevent some sort of dilapitation?
So, my question is:
How do I start gutting out the interior?
What do I need to watch for?

A wise reply on a thread said that "someone else's junk can be someone else's treasure" so it is best to label the the gutted things and sell?
Can the appliances be salvagable?
Any help will be greatly welcomed!
Oh...and I think I should post pics so that you guys and gals can get a better handle of what I'm challeged with.
Lyvettely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 02:06 AM   #2
5 rivets, 1 loose screw

1966 20' Globetrotter
Saginaw County , Michigan
All that glitters is not gold. We need more info to make any assessment. Almost any Airstream trailer for 1k is a bargain but if you’re planning a total restore, you are looking at least several thousand dollars additional. Pictures would be helpful. Restoration is a very costly process. 28' Ambassadors generally do not have big resale values.
Welcome to the forums.