Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-11-2002, 07:55 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Question Thinking of Buying '72 Overlander

Well, I never owned a trailer before but looked at many. Today I saw a 1972 International Overlander, 27' model for sale. The owners appear to have taken excellent care of the trailer inside and out. The trailer has center twin beds, large rear bath, and the 70's look throughout.

I am thinking about buying the trailer, is their anything that I need to be aware of or concerned about? I would really appreciate any help. I am very new to this...

Thanks, Joe
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2002, 08:55 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1969 27' Overlander
, Michigan
I have a 1969 Overlander. It is a good size trailer, large enough for comfort, small enough to get into many small sites.

Trailers prior to 1973 did not have a gray tank. Black water tanks hold toilet water. The '72 should have one in the rear of the trailer. There is a slide valve that is opened to drain the tank. The valve and the tank should not leak. Check for frame rust back there as well. Grey water tanks hold sink / shower wastewater. The '72 will not have one. Sink water will drain out of the drain in the rear. At one time it was considered ok to do so, now it is not. Most people use a tote tank to capture gray water when not at a full hook-up site.

Look for evidence of floor rot (soft wood) around the edges. Airstreams are double hulled, if they develop a leak, water runs down the inside wall and over time can cause floor rot.

Make sure all the appliances and system work. This means check them all. Fill the water tank, run water, look for leaking pipes, etc. Check that the Fridge gets cold. Does the airconditioner (if equipped) work? Does the furnace work? What shape is the upholstery in? Window treatments?