Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Overlander > 1970 - 1973 Overlander
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-23-2011, 08:17 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1972 27' Overlander
Clarksburg , Missouri
New Airstream 1972 Overlander owner

I'm new to the Airstreams and am really excited! I have a 1972 Airstream that is partially gutted and am debating to restore it to original or to do my own thing to it. What are most people doing? Do the original sell more than the modern? Just wanting to get some ideas before I get started.

Dad and I are planning to put a new floor in this weekend.....any advice? I think we are just going to replace the pieces in the floor that are bad and not the entire thing.

I'm also curious about the bathroom and what suggestions are for that. The toilet and shower are there. Replace or clean up??

Thanks so much!!!!
joneslacey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:30 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 25' Tradewind
Bloomsbury , New Jersey
welcome

Welcome to the forum! You need to do what is best for you for the restoration/redo. My 73 Tradewind was is really nice shape, so I am keeping it mostly original. I have seen custom jobs to drool over. Good luck, ask questions, and post some pics. MPJ
moparjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:38 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1972 25' Tradewind
Currently Looking...
McHenry County , Illinois
Welcome to the Forum and congratulations on your new Airstream.
My first Vintage Airstream was a partially gutted rig similar to yours with the bath intact and the remainder cut up or missing.
That wasn’t too hard to do a credible restoration on because the cabinetry was wood with plain doors. Mostly simple woodworking.