Old 02-28-2012, 11:32 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1972 27' Overlander
Penokee , Kansas
5 year search, we got it!

Hello all you other metal heads!

I am a farmer rancher in NW Kansas and have been on a search for a good used AS for seems like a life time.. The ones we found were way over priced or gutted.. Or 1500 miles away,,

Been watching the one we got for over 2 years.. The fellow started out at $32,000 and the last listing he was down to real world value of $7700.. Unlike most of them we only had to drive 280 miles too go look it over.. Found he sawed a large hole in the bedroom wall looking for the power inverter.. My GoD!

The shelves under the sink were in a pile but other than one small ding in the rear roof the body shell looks great..

While on our search for a good AS,, I gave up and got a 5th wheel (tooth pick and staple wonder).. It had a small 6 in. gap in a rear corner of the body.. Turned out to have and rebuild the entire wooded frame from the rear of the wheel wells to the roof.. The only thing that held the water heater in place and from falling on the road was the 5 cans of spray foam.. After seeing the construction of the stick and staple wonder,, it forced me another level harder to find a good solid AS to invest in,, not just patch together in a rolling money pit..

Found this group and am impressed with the support and lack of personal body slams a lot of chat rooms seem to draw..

Looking forward to meeting you all and in time be able to forward support from my new wisdom..

Sodbust

Old 02-28-2012, 11:37 AM   #2

1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Welcome to the forums!

5 years might be a new record, it only took me 8 months to find mine. What did you get and when do we get to she it?

Old 02-28-2012, 11:38 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Welcome, and now we all want to know what you did get (and how we missed it...grin). No secrets here if the ink is dry on the title.