Old 08-13-2014, 10:38 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1968 26' Overlander
Snowmass Village , Colorado
locked rear ext compartment door

Hello All,

I am new to the Airstream world, and am turning a 1968 Overlander into basically a tiny house. I'm at the point where I'm re-sealing all the windows and discovering how everything works. Unfortunately I don't have the key to the rear exterior compartment and it's locked. I live in a rural area and would rather figure out how to do this on my own (so as to avoid the cost of a locksmith driving all the way out here). Any tips on getting this lock opened? The "line" at my local hardware store is that "I need a locksmith because they can't tell me how to break into my own trailer."

Also, advice on what to use to re-seal leaky areas..... I've been told silicone, but then I've also read not to use silicone and go with a polyurethane. Thoughts?

Thanks for the help! Apologies if this info exists already somewhere on this forum. I just couldn't wade through all the posts.

Old 08-13-2014, 10:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
If you can see the inside of the compartment door....or just feel it....use a small (short) phillips screwdriver on the screw holding the lock lever on. Remove the screw and lever, the door will fall open. Replace the lock with one you can get for a few dollars. I would not get it at the same hardware store which would not help you with this simple fix.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Compartment lock.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	219004  

Old 08-14-2014, 06:07 AM   #3
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melody Ranch View Post