Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-03-2012, 11:40 PM   #1

1979 28' Ambassador
California , California
Troubleshooting water pump

I have a 1979 Ambassador that is 95% original with all systems operational. Just recently we have been having an issue with our water pump. It is a PAR 36950-2000. After running water through all of our fixtures, the water pump will run intermittently. Every 10-12 seconds. Water will run out of the pressure relief valve whenever it cycles on. It also blows the 6 1/4 amp fuse after a minute or so. I spoke with a friend who was an RV maintenance tech for over 20 years and he suggested removing the pressure control unit on the front of the pump, flush the line and check to see if there is debris in the pinhole orifice on the disk that inflates and trips the pump off. I followed his advice and still have the same issue. The disk, which appears to be made of latex is not smooth. It is wrinkled but still inflates for the most part.

Any suggestions?
Thank you in advance.
RMWoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 12:11 AM   #2
Maniacal Engineer

1971 25' Tradewind
Lopez Island , Washington
Well, the fuse blowing indicates a overcurrent situation, which would tend to suggest the pressure switch is faulty. You could make sure by attaching a pressure gage somewhere in the system, which is not a bad plan in any case. Once you know it's the switch, you can either replace it or dissemble and attempt to reduce the strength of the spring so as to reduce the pressure at which it turns off....

- Bart
barts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 12:18 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1978 28' Ambassador
Morada , California