Old 07-26-2016, 01:45 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2006 16' Safari
Currently Looking...
San Francisco , California
Tank Level indicator lights and BLACK water ??

Newbie here (but an engineer). 2006 16' Bambi.

Our Fresh water tank has hit yellow, been refilled and hit yellow again. No gray tank in the Bambi. My black tank indicator is still green.

Should I be worried that my black tank indicator is out?

Where will the first evidence of black water overflow be?

Has anyone with a 16' calibrated when the indicator lights change from green to yellow to red for the fresh and black tanks?

I plan to run a calibration exercise as soon as can. Empty the black water, fill the fresh. Pump fresh into 1 gallon jug, pour into the black water tank via the drain, check the indicator lights. Continue to loop until black water overflows if practical, refilling fresh water or dumping the black water if needed.

Thanks!

Old 07-26-2016, 01:54 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2016 27' Flying Cloud
Overland Park , Kansas
Those indicators are notoriously not very accurate. As far as the black water you should be able to look down into the tank and see the level, when you flush.

Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums

Old 07-26-2016, 02:03 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2008 25' Classic
Nixa , Missouri
I purchase a inline water meter to attach to my water hose to measure how much water goes into a tank. When I recalibrate, I disconnect the other tanks sensors vs trying to perform the Micropulse procedure for individual tank calibration. I also take the trailer off shore power and let the battery voltage stabilize. When I fill the tank to calibrate the empty and full tank readings I wait for several minutes at each position to let the sensor react to the water level before proceeding to the next step. My Micropulse kinda works well enough not to consider switching to a SeeLevel system yet.

Good luck

Kelvin
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 03:14 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member