Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-25-2015, 10:13 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1962 22' Safari
Saint Petersburg , Florida
Send a message via ICQ to CraigFulton
Stock 1962 Safari...how does black water work?

I am new to Airstreams...new to campers!! But I've built houses and restored cars, so there's nothing I can't handle.

I'm about to gut this interior to re-wire, re-insulate, and re-build everything. I am saving every single original part I can even if that means fabricating repairs on those that are broken. I am putting it back to the original layout. I just want updated wiring and fabric. I'm figuring out how the plumbing works before I start this weekend. The potable water is fed from the street and operates on air pressure when off the grid. The gray water just runs out of the single waste valve...which I can see probably needs some work like a new seal. I'm really lost on this black water. I think the toilet is sitting directly on the black water tank. There is a sprayer next to the toilet for "flushing". But what else feeds this tank besides what comes out of people? hahaha. Shouldn't there be a clean out or is it simply that sprayer? (Which really reminds me of how you handle your business in India). Does the waste valve have multiple settings when you pull it to dump gray and then black?

I'm really looking for a firm understanding of how this would have worked in 1962 out of the dealer. I know I can upgrade everything and add gray tanks, etc. But I'm a purist and if it worked in 1962 then I want it to work for me in 2015.

Thank you!

Craig
CraigFulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 10:55 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1962 22' Safari
1964 26' Overlander