Old 09-26-2011, 04:33 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
PEX what crimping techniques work best

My new to me 81 Excella II has been retrofitted with PEX and I am not real confident that is was done right. In fact I know it was not done right. There is a hodge podge of different connectors from some sort of twist on T's to crimp on connections to hose clamps etc. The system does not seem to have too many leaks using the on board pump and I am afraid to hook it to city water and flood the trailer as all the jury rigged connects pop loose.

So my question is, which type of crimp works best. There is the kind with the little tab that sticks out and you mash it together with pliers and there is another that uses a copper ring and a different type of plier. I have also seen a tool for the copper rings that uses a vice grip plier to mash it together. My engineer gut tells me the copper ring is better because it clamps more evenly. I have had some experience with the little tab things with CV joint boots on cars. I don't like the little tabs based on that alone.

How did the PO get all the new plumbing routed without dropping the pans? I have thought of going with CPVC if I can get the PEX out of there without a hassel.

Perry

Old 09-26-2011, 05:32 PM   #2
Well Preserved

1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
I use Seatek push-together fittings on PEX. Push it on, pull back, and it's done.

Old 09-26-2011, 07:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 27' Overlander
Loganville , Georgia
Overlander63 is correct. That is what I did with my 73 using shark bites. I am doing my next trailer with the plastic versions.

Brian
Old 09-26-2011, 07:26 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1977 31' Sovereign
Boonsboro , Maryland