Old 08-12-2010, 12:22 AM   #1
Benvenito

1965 26' Overlander
Chatfield , Minnesota
Unhappy Newbie needs help! Camping this wknd & know nothing about plumbing!

I've been working rather diligently for the last 3 months to remodel my '65 Overlander 26 footer. I have focused so much on flooring, paint, and interior that I haven't even tried the water/plumbing in the trailer. Where's a good place to start? Should I fill the fresh water tank in the front of the Airstream? Should I hook the trailer up to the garden hose and turn on the water? I believe the water pump works b/c I have turned it on and can hear it pumping. How do I know if the toilet works? How do you drain the black water? Do I need to buy chemicals for the black water tank? I see on the water tank in the front of the trailer that there is a brassy line going through the floor straight down on the right side. Is that for draining the fresh water beneath the trailer? As you can see, I'm a bit clueless here. I have logged countless hours working on this trailer so far. Everything I've tried to operate on this camper has worked, and worked well. So I wouldn't be surprised if all the plumbing and what not works, but I just don't know where to begin! Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks, Ben.

"Ask not what your Airstream can do for you,
but what you can do for your Airstream."
[apologies to JFK]

"It's not the destination, but the journey."
Benvenito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 12:31 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Currently Looking...
Denton , North Carolina
hose

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benvenito View Post