Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-27-2009, 07:59 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1964 24' Tradewind
Orlando , Florida
holding tanks above subfloor?

OK, so here is the deal. Im new to airstreams but just purchased a 24', 1964 tradewind, the frame, shell, axels, bellypan etc. are in great shape, but it is completely stripped on the inside. Basically I have a unit with a great shell and frame but nothing inside, my wife calls it our blank canvas.

My first question (I apologize, I have a few), is it possible to put the holding tanks above the subfloor? We plan on living full time and could possibly be in some colder climates, I figured that if I put all of the plumbing above the floor it would eliminate everything freezing in the winter. I am thinking that I can build the bed, cabinets etc around the tanks to conceal them. Is this something that people do?

Does anyone know where to get holding tanks? I have one original tank, it is made from fiberglass (I think its the black water tank because it has a dump valve). I am definitely on a budget but want to do it right. What size tanks should I get? should I buy them local or order online? I live in Orlando FL, does anyone know any places around that would sell them?

Thank you everyone for looking at this, I know that my thoughts are a bit scattered but I just want to do this the right way because its going to be our home.
photocodo
photocodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:10 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1969 25' Tradewind
1971 18' Caravel
Berkeley Springs , West Virginia
Yep, my 71 has the black tank above the floor.
In fact there are several forum threads you could use to find info.

Not intending to send you down a rabbit hole, but here is one to get you started.
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f444...ice-54806.html
TWaugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:26 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus