Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-22-2016, 08:29 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1969 18' Caravel
Dallas , Texas
fresh water tank below the subfloor

I'm very new to this RV thing and i'm trying to remodel a 69 Caravel.
I've got my new subfloor in and I've flipped the frame and working on the underneath side now.
I'D LIKE TO INSTALL A FRESH WATER TANK UNDERNEATH THE SUBFLOOR IN THE AREA WHERE I'VE SEEN SOME SPARE TIRES BE PLACED.
Couple questions come to mind that I want to make sure i'm not making a huge mistake.

1) The tank that will fit in this area has a bigger depth than the 5" space btw subfloor and bellypan so my tank will be exposed 5 1/2" below the frame. I plan on having some kind of galvanized cover fabricated for it to protect it. DO YOU THINK THAT PERTRUDING BOX BELOW THE BELLY PAN WILL BE SUBJECT TO TOO MUCH POSSIBLE DAMAGE FROM TOWING IN LOW CLEARANCE SITUATIONS?

2) If it is possible to locate the tank there below the belly pan can I have the water pump be above the subfloor? Or does there need to be some kind of gravity factor involved with getting the fresh water into the pump and out to the lines within the trailer?

3) What are the penetrations that will be needed within the tank? One for an inlet from my original fresh water fill cap, Two for an outlet to the water pump, and Three for a drain valve to use at the end of trips/season to completely flush the tank?

THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR ANY ADVICE ANYONE CAN GIVE ME ON THIS!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fresh water tank position.PNG
Views:	256
Size:	272.3 KB
ID:	267518  
bucketlisttx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 10:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master