Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2006, 07:49 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
cameront120's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,422
Images: 23
Wireless ADSL Users...help?

Hopefully someone who is more computer literate than I can help. Up until a few days ago, my wireless connection has been fine. Now, it is worse than dial up...seriously. It gets even more bogged down when I reply to a post or create a new post, requiring many attempts to post. Even when I check the connection properties and it says I have a connection speed of 54.4 Mbps, it ispainfully slow, or completely non-responsive. Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm ready to give up on wireless and go back to a regular ADSL connection. Thanks in advance!

Cheers!
__________________

__________________
Cameron & the Labradors, Kai & Samm
North Vancouver, BC
Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death! - Mame Dennis
cameront120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 08:13 PM   #2
Rivet Monster
 
wahoonc's Avatar

 
1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,174
Images: 40
I don't claim to be computer literate...but do you have your wireless network secured? My parents were having issues similar to yours and it turned out to be a several people taking advantage of the fact they weren't secured. Add that on an the issue went a way. Try running a "repair connection" on it. Also I have had to reboot mine on occasion. What OS are you running and which browser? If you have the lastest and greatest from Microcrap and got the latest updates there have been a few issues with those patches vs HP products.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
....so many Airstreams....so little time...
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 08:15 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
GreatPumpkin's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Colville , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,033
Images: 70
Mbps or Kbps? I've got standard 256 Kbps DSL, and I love it. There are faster speeds availabel of course, but this is so much faster thatn dial-up. If your speed is really 54.4 Mbps, then it's somethin else that is bogging down the computer - this is going to sound obvious, and you've probably already checked - have you scanned for a virus or spyware? If that turns up negative, I would contact your service provider to trouble shoot.
__________________
AIR 12256
Currently Looking
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
2001 Honda XR650R
Currently Looking...for an Avion Truck Camper (or a Classic Argosy MoHo)

"In regione caecorum rex est luscus." GP
GreatPumpkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 08:19 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
GreatPumpkin's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Colville , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,033
Images: 70
wahoonc is correct - that's definitely another thing to check, if your network isn't protected, it would be simple for neighbors to piggyback onto your connection thereby slowing it down. The more users, the slower it goes. I've got my wireless network 128 bit encrypted, but I still check once in awhile to see if there are any other users - all but impossible with 128 bit encryption!
__________________
AIR 12256
Currently Looking
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
2001 Honda XR650R
Currently Looking...for an Avion Truck Camper (or a Classic Argosy MoHo)

"In regione caecorum rex est luscus." GP
GreatPumpkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 08:20 PM   #5
Rivet Monster
 
wahoonc's Avatar

 
1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,174
Images: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatPumpkin
Mbps or Kbps? I've got standard 256 Kbps DSL, and I love it. There are faster speeds availabel of course, but this is so much faster thatn dial-up. If your speed is really 54.4 Mbps, then it's somethin else that is bogging down the computer - this is going to sound obvious, and you've probably already checked - have you scanned for a virus or spyware? If that turns up negative, I would contact your service provider to trouble shoot.
54.0Mbps is standard for a "g" wireless system. My typical download speeds are in the 1.5Mbps range on the wireless (I have 3.0Mbps ADSL) but that is limited by the router and I haven't gotten around to changing the settings on it. My desktop that is hardwired hits around 2.9Mbps

Aaron
__________________
....so many Airstreams....so little time...
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 08:25 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
GreatPumpkin's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Colville , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,033
Images: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc
..... My desktop that is hardwired hits around 2.9Mbps

Aaron
You're flying!!!! I can't imagine that fast. I've always had 56K dial-up, connecting around 42 if I was lucky. Moved to Colville, and nothing but dialup available. I could barely connect at 28! Finally a year and a half later Qwest added DSL to this little town. I was the first person to sign up! I opted for the cheaper package of only 256K, but it's so much faster than what I had
__________________
AIR 12256
Currently Looking
2001 Dodge Ram 1500
2001 Honda XR650R
Currently Looking...for an Avion Truck Camper (or a Classic Argosy MoHo)

"In regione caecorum rex est luscus." GP
GreatPumpkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 08:28 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
flyfisher's Avatar
 
2004 30' Classic
Field and Stream , PA & MT
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 819
I'm the last person in the world you'd want to get computer advice from, but I was having similar problems to yours a little over a week ago.

I called the tech suppport people from my internet provider (Comast), and after about 5 minutes on the telephone, and describing to them that some of the lights on my Motorola modem were blinking on and off, they sent out one of their service technicians to check their wires coming into my home. They arrived about 3 hours after I made the call.

The service guy found some bad wiring coming into my house, which he replaced in about 10 minutes. He also said the underground wires needed to be replaced coming from the street in front of my home. As an interim measure, he laid new wires above ground, and sometime during the past 2 days they ran new wires underground.

My problems were thusly fixed quickly.

I guess that's a reason why I pay ungodly high monthly fees to Comcast, and how they just made something like $400 million profit for their past fiscal quarter, claiming to have signed up a couple hundred thousand new internet customers (suckers) like me.

John
__________________
Flyfisher
flyfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 08:36 PM   #8
Rivet Monster
 
wahoonc's Avatar

 
1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,174
Images: 40
FWIW I use www.internetfrog.com for my speed/response time/service quality checks. (thanks to Janet ) It has proven very handy. It really proved to my boss that it was better for me to telecomute than drive the 43 miles to the office for internet

Aaron
__________________
....so many Airstreams....so little time...
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 11:00 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
silverback's Avatar
 
2006 28' Safari SE
Currently Looking...
Sierra Vista , United States
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 702
check your DSL modem

Usually you can access your modem with a web browser by putting it's IP address into the browser address bar (try http://192.186.0.1). My DSL provider Qwest has all this documented on thier support web site. When you connect to the modem you should see something like this:
Connection Status

Speed (down/up): 7168 / 896 Kbps
PPP Connection: Connected

If that doesn't show the speed your paying for call your ISP. I had to do that with Qwest.

-KL
__________________
4CU Charter Member
silverback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 01:03 AM   #10
Van
4 Rivet Member
 
1977 23' Safari
Hillsboro , Oregon
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 348
Images: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc
My desktop that is hardwired hits around 2.9Mbps
Here is a fun site for the PC geeks and those that like to post bragging rights...

http://www.dslreports.com/stest


Test your speed and compare to others.



dslreports.com speed test result on 2006-05-08 01:59:32 EST:
6617 / 348
Your download speed : 6617 kbps or 827.2 KB/sec.
__________________
Van
2009 F-350 FX4 Crewcab 4x4 6.4l
former '78 Argosy 20' Minuet owner
former '77 23' Safari owner
former 25' Fun Finder X-250BHS SOB owner
current 26' Komfort Trailblazer 262BSLE SOB owner
Van is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 07:50 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Chaplain Kent's Avatar
 
1994 30' Excella
Currently Looking...
Milwaukee , Wisconsin
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by cameront120
It gets even more bogged down when I reply to a post or create a new post, requiring many attempts to post.
Cheers!
For some reason I have always had this problem . What I do is save the response or post first then post it and it always works.
__________________
Chaplain Kent
2015 Coachman Freedom Express 19RBS, Chummy IV- Ford Excursion- 7.3 Turbo-diesel
Chaplain Kent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 09:14 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
cameront120's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,422
Images: 23
Thanks for the tips everyone. I do have a secured network, so I don't think that has been the problem. I did a complete system shut down and restart and that seems to have helped. I'll see if the system stays stable. I don't have any spyware removal software on my machine at present, what is everyone using on their PCs?
__________________
Cameron & the Labradors, Kai & Samm
North Vancouver, BC
Live! Life's a banquet and most poor suckers are starving to death! - Mame Dennis
cameront120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 09:15 AM   #13
Patriotic
 
Chuck's Avatar

 
1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,533
Images: 260
I've found that these little devices we use to make these connections (wired or wireless routers, dsl or cable modems) are kind of crappy. they need frequent re-boots. Unplug the unit(s), count to 10, and plug them back in.

the "54mbps" speed is only between the router and your pc; that is NOT the speed you have to the internet. the speed from the router to the internet is at best, whatever you paid for. and the indication that you see is really only the speed at which the network interface "thinks" it can communicate; not what it really can do.

If it isn't a hardware problem, the slow-down could be as others already mentioned...segment congestion from people stealing your bandwidth, or local loop congestion. (i.e., you and the neighbors are sharing the carrier's bandwidth, and the line is just too congested).

check all that, and then call the isp. DSL is highly susceptible to "bad connection" problems, from wiring flaws, noise on the lines, and distance from the local switch...all of which can make it "fussy".
__________________
Air:291
Wbcci: 3752
'73 Safari 23'
'00 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 QC
Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 09:22 AM   #14
Round on both ends
 
SafeHarbor's Avatar
 
1979 31' Excella 500
1975 28' Argosy 28
Rutledge , Georgia
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 783
Images: 39
Hi, guys,

Well, the 54 megaBITS is the speed of the wireless part of the connection itself. It's not megaBYTES, and it's not the connection speed of the modem itself.

I agree with the other advice in this thread. First go to Start -> Connect to -> Show All Connections

Then right-click "Wireless Network Connection" and select "Repair." Okay, did that give any errors?

If not, did your wireless modem (which I guess is really just a DSL modem with a simple wireless router) come with an ethernet port? If so, try connecting from that port to your PC bypassing the wireless part.

You might need to go to the same Settings screen and choose "Repair" for "Local Area Connection" to get it working.

If it's still slow, I would try unhooking the power plug, waiting a couple of minutes and hooking it back up.

Still slow?

It's time to call the phone company.

Good luck.

Lamar
__________________

__________________
1975 Argosy 28 "Argosy"
1979 Excella 500 31 "Betsy"
1992 Lincoln Mk 7 LSC
2003 Dodge 2500 Cummins "TowHog"
"Lucy Loosehair" the cat - Airstream mascot
Klaatu barada nikto
SafeHarbor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For any Sherline users wasafari Hitches, Couplers & Balls 0 11-29-2005 12:15 PM
Wireless backup camera gklott Electronics & Connectivity 5 01-11-2005 01:23 AM
Wireless Web Reception niftypkg General Interior Topics 1 11-08-2002 09:03 PM
Vortec 8.1ltr Krazykraut Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 13 10-20-2002 06:53 AM
Ford Windstar Gordon Watt Tow Vehicles 61 08-23-2002 09:33 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.