Old 09-05-2006, 10:35 AM   #1
1975 27' Overlander
Twin Cities , Minnesota
Rant! Over kill

I see a lot of folks who seem to think that more is always better.
Like if your frame is made from 14 guage steel then 12 or 10 guage (heavier)is better.
If your floor is made of 3/4" plywood then 1 1/2" of plywood is better.
If your cabinets were screwed together at the factory then screws and glue is better.
Or using lots of caulk where it's not necessary.
These things, while it may make you feel like you are improving your rig don't neccessarily add much to it's structural integrity. It's mostly just overkill. It just adds unnecesary weight.
I'm a carpenter. I remodel kitchens and bathrooms.
The worst jobs I have to do is to take apart those rooms that were remodeled in the past by DIYers.
So much extra glue and caulk and screws.
I always think about the poor guy who will have to remodel it again in 30 or 40 years. And try to have a little compassion for him.
I know that these trailers are a DIYer's dream but I sometimes pity guys like Andy at Inland RV who have to correct mistakes or re-remodel a trailer.
That's not to say that you shouldn't use modern materials and techniques. They have improved greatly since your trailer was built.
But don't get caught up in the overkill thing.
Just fix it using the same techniques that were used at the factory.
Lord knows it lasted for 40 or 50 years as it was. How are you going to improve on that?

Ultradog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 11:02 AM   #2
AIR #8691
2006 25' Safari SS SE
Northern , Virginia
I’m guilty of overkill on some projects and perhaps it is because I’m not a trained craftsman or expert on most things I tackle. I can rationalize that it doesn’t cost much to use one more nail, screw or dap of caulking. Another unconscious reason is that I remember the following poem:
For want of a nail, the shoe was lost;
For want of the shoe, the horse was lost;
For want of the horse, the rider was lost;