Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2007, 10:37 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
codybear's Avatar
 
1964 22' Safari
SACRAMENTO , California
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,562
Images: 315
Blog Entries: 2
problem w/laptop and server

Hi,

I'm on my desktop and am able to get online here, and access my Outlook Express email, but when I tried from the laptop, it displayed: it wouldn't or couldn't find the server?..anyone have any suggestions?..thnx.
__________________

__________________
codybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:45 PM   #2
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Without knowing how you are connected it is hard to say. Can you get to any sites on the internet?
__________________

__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:47 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
codybear's Avatar
 
1964 22' Safari
SACRAMENTO , California
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,562
Images: 315
Blog Entries: 2
Hi Richard, I have att.yahoo. and I checked the status: it shows no connectivity...I can get online only here at the desktop, pretty strange!
__________________
codybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 10:55 PM   #4
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Is the laptop wireless or do you connect with a network cable?
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:04 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
codybear's Avatar
 
1964 22' Safari
SACRAMENTO , California
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,562
Images: 315
Blog Entries: 2
Yes, the laptop is wireless, Richard!..
__________________
codybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:09 PM   #6
Moderator
 
moosetags's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,762
Images: 5
Try going to your bottom tool bar and view wireless networks and try reconnecting to your net.
__________________
SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA
2005 Suburban 2500 Quadrasteer (Olivia) & 2018 Silverado 2500 (Lillian)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:09 PM   #7
USN/LAPD Retired
 
Safari-Rick's Avatar
 
2005 25' Safari
North Las Vegas , United States
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 850
Do you have the wireless button depressed on your laptop? How about the modum?
Turn off Laptop if you haven't already done so if you have the modum and router on and they are working. maybe a reboot will do the trick.
__________________
2007 Dodge Ram Quadcab 6.7L Diesel w/jakebrake

"Better to have more then you need, then need more then you have because you don't have enough!"
AIR #: 8129
Safari-Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:10 PM   #8
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
I don't do alot of wireless, but here a few things to check.
Make sure your wireless router is working. If your Desktop is wireless, it must be working.
Some laptops have a small switch that turns off the wireless feature. We have Dell M65's at work and they have a little slide switch on the left side of the unit. When it is off the wireless light goes off and it will not function.
The wireless may also be disabled in the os or in the bios.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:11 PM   #9
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari-Rick
maybe a reboot will do the trick.
Have you ever worked a helpdesk?
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:49 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
codybear's Avatar
 
1964 22' Safari
SACRAMENTO , California
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,562
Images: 315
Blog Entries: 2
one by one trying

Quote:
Originally Posted by moosetags
Try going to your bottom tool bar and view wireless networks and try reconnecting to your net.
Ok, I did look at the bottom, still no luck..thnx

Also, checked the switch, turned off the laptop, and turned it back on..thnx..

Also, noticed the display of cannot connect to server: it said something about none or invalid ip address?..and/or m computer's network connection network did not assign a network address to the computer..
__________________
codybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 11:58 PM   #11
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
let's see what this will do.
Open up a command window by selecting start - run and key in cmd and press enter.

In that window key in ipconfig and press enter.
You should see a display with one of the lines saying IP, it may be something like this
192.168.0.1 or 254.169.0.1

After you note what it is key in ipconfig /renew and press enter.

That command might take a little while, you will be atempting to contact the DNS server to get a new IP address. See what happens as a result of that command.

I am taking a SWAG here because I am not familiar with your setup.....
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 12:07 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
codybear's Avatar
 
1964 22' Safari
SACRAMENTO , California
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,562
Images: 315
Blog Entries: 2
Hi Richard, I just googled ip address and came up w/info like what you said, so I'll try it thnx..paula
__________________
codybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 12:13 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
codybear's Avatar
 
1964 22' Safari
SACRAMENTO , California
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,562
Images: 315
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by codybear
Hi Richard, I just googled ip address and came up w/info like what you said, so I'll try it thnx..paula
Now, that's weird !!..I came out here to the kitchen, turned on the laptop, and my avg (online) update went through fine ..even before i could get online..so I didn't need to go through the start/ipconfig process..

If I did, would that mean, it's not a static ip, but a dynamic one that will have to be changed every so often I get a 'glitch' like this??..
__________________
codybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 12:20 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
codybear's Avatar
 
1964 22' Safari
SACRAMENTO , California
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11,562
Images: 315
Blog Entries: 2
p.s. I did go back to the connectivity status on the bottom of the toolbar and noted that in the Support Tab assigned by DHCP there was indeed the IP Address listed and also the sunet mask and default gateway..so for now, I think I'm ok..thnx for your help!
__________________

__________________
codybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Issues, Upgrades and Upcoming Downtime Andy R Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 13 12-08-2006 08:54 PM
New server, but all backed up????? StingrayL82 Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 28 04-27-2006 03:13 PM
server problem again? Tin Hut Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 11 11-20-2003 05:14 PM
Forum vs. List Server Andy R Our Community 8 04-11-2002 11:03 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.