portable boat?

Hi,

Now that we have the trailer, I've been trying to figure out
how we might get a versatile boat to come along for the ride
as well. Our tow vehicle is a crew cab with lumberracks so I
know where the boat is going to go; but we were trying
to find one that we can sail, motor and row if possible. Maybe
10' to 14.'

Some of the boats fill the bill but they are to heavy or to wide for us to get on the truck(60 inches max width).

One boat we have seen on the web is called "porte-bote."
It breaks down and folds over to about 4" high x 24 inches
wide. You can motor, sail or row it as well but it kind of
scares me to think of a folding boat with my family in it.
Have you ever heard of it?? What do you recommend?

thanks

Old 12-31-2003, 07:40 PM   #2

Hi,
I'm new to airstreaming and also this forum.
I can tell you that I have seen the porta Boat in use and it is a nice small boat.
My brother in law has one and during his visits to us, we live on a lake, uses it all of the time. He has a small motor and uses it for fishing or just running around the lake.
He is a full timer and has no problem transporting the boat. It has a place on the roof rack of his jeep wagon which he tows behind his motorhome.
I think that boat company has a web site that would be helpful to you.

Old 12-31-2003, 08:17 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

thanks nhtexan,

I saw the web site but nothing is as helpful as hearing from some one who has used the boat before or owns one and is
happy with it; I guess that is why we have the A/S. So
many happy campers!!!

Thanks again
Old 12-31-2003, 09:02 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Tonka Bay
i'm Thinking

I have a 20 ft pontoon boat and now have an Airstream. I've got competing pleasures. I'm tempted to buy another Airstream and put it on top of my pontoon boat. It may be the only way I can enjoy both.
Davydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2003, 09:04 PM   #5
uwe

2007 25' Safari FB SE
1958 22' Flying Cloud
1974 29' Ambassador