Old 06-01-2016, 07:22 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2014 25' International
2006 23' Safari SE
Currently Looking...
Boulder City , Nevada
Legend of Earl Dorr's River of Gold...

At a Memorial Day get together, a neighbor heard I was a geologist, of some trustworthy nature, and asked if I had heard about an 'underground river' just west of the southern Nevada State Line in eastern San Bernadino County, California.

'All news to me' was my reply.

Paperwork was delivered to me by him in person and I would... 'look into it'.

An Underground River with tides and flowing 3,000 to 5,000 feet below the surface surrounded by huge stalagmites and stalactites.

This afternoon my neighbor brought to me a copy of a Sworn Statement of E. P. Dorr and notorized the 10th of December 1934 in Los Angeles detailing several mountain peaks and the discovery of Placer Gold deposits.

Well, anyone mentioning gold placers to a geologist... is giving a free lead to filling one's pockets with gold dust and nuggets. Hmmm. Onto the Google searches, since my maps and California geology are still in Colorado.

But... for you who like to Boondock and might enjoy a good camping out in the Mohave Desert... this story may be for YOU.

Key Locations to search for those interested to get started with some background of all of this.:

Kokoweef Peak
Kokoweef Cave
Dorr Peak
Earl Dorr
Crystal Cave
Legend of Earl Dorr's (now deceased) River of Gold

Is this the Lost Dutchman of Arizona, but one at 5,000 feet below the Mohave Desert in California? Also, including a flowing river with tides?

There is a lot to work through on this River of Gold. Have you been wanting to take your Airstream and check this one out?

This is an alternative Off Topic for those itching to discover another entrance to the cave system beneath the desert.

What is your impression of this find in 1934. Are you ready to tow your Airstream to the area and find out for yourself?