Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Off Topic Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-07-2006, 05:49 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2005 31' Classic
Castalain Springs , Tennessee
Hail, Hail and we're still here

Just had our first encounter with a tornado and hail here in Tenn. This afternoon a tornado passed several hundred yards south of our house and dropped hail on our new AS. I'm a retired police officer and am not inclined to exagerate; the hail was baseball to softball size. We did not suffer any wind damage but we did receive about a dozen dings on the top, front shell of the AS. Actually, for the size of the hail I am very impressed how durable the aluminum is. The dings are not real noticeable, maybe 1/8" or so deep and quarter sized in width. Had some damage to our siding on the home also but that seems to be all. Considering what happened to the next town over, Gallatin, we are very lucky and thankful.
Anyway, has anyone had hail damage to their units and can anything be done to bring the dents out?
Footnote: While writing this we just saw newsfootage from a helicopter on the path of the tornado that went passed our home as it went through Gallatin, I'm embrassed to write about our damage. Homes and businesses are completely demolished, I mean completely.
We hope the storms are over for today.
GreggH
GreggH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 06:07 PM   #2

2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera