Old 10-01-2005, 02:18 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1971 23' Safari
Joshua Tree , California
Any other contractors out there?

(This post ended up alot longer than I intended, sorry for that)
We need advice. After 30 years of being a contractor, my husband has had his first complaint filed with the CSLB (contrators state license board). It is becoming apparent that contractors have no rights at all. The complainant has made a list of demands to resolve the problem, and the 'arbitrtator' has told him he must comply, and they are also pulling his license and attaching his bond.

The story is that he installed an aboveground pool 3 years ago for a customer who has since died. His sister inherited a good deal of wealth and also the property the pool is on. The liner got a rip, she didn't address the problem, the leak under cut the ground underneath, and the pool collapsed. Originally, she wanted a full refund of what her brother paid for the pool. My husband said he would put the pool back up and install a new liner at no cost. (Even though it wasn't his fault, he is legally responsible for what happens to the pool in the first 4 years, to get it back in the condition it was in before the collapse).

She said alright, and then promptly filed a complaint with the CSLB. Now she wants the pool reinstalled elsewhere on the property in an unsuitable location, which would require massive relandscaping (retaining walls, etc) to become suitable. The CSLB web site says that the first step after a complaint is filed is arbitration, whereas the two parties come to an agreed resolution with the help of an arbitrator. In our case the 'arbitrator' wants us to do whatever she wants - with no negotiations on our part, at which point his license will be revoked, his bond attached, and he is essentially without any means to make a living.