Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Off Topic Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-14-2009, 06:37 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1967 26' Overlander
Owings Mills , MD
Aluminauts

I have read the dueling threads on the WBCCI. While in the shower this morning, I thought a bit about an Airstream "club." This was a bit odd foe me because I'm not a prototypical "joiner." On the other hand, it wasn't bad to do some pre-caffeine mental gymnastics. First, I think, one needs a catchy name. I picked Aluminauts... though this is shamelessly stealing the name of the 1964 aluminum submarine. Of course, who could resist being considered one of the Aluminatti? Or the Aluminaughty? Jason and the Aluminauts?

Ah, so if we have a name... we need a charter. How about: "This is a club for aluminum travel trailer folks; All else is commentary." Oh, and rules. I gave this one a great deal of thought:

1. Be Nice
2. When in doubt, see Rule 1.

What's the real appeal of, you know, the other club? It's simple, folks... red numbers. There is an inherent human attraction to a number, particularly if the number is higher (or lower) than some other person's number. But are numbers really the answer? Is the number 37 simply destined to harbor secret desires to be 36? No, I think the answer is more creative... words... in green.... Oh, sure, twitter and giggle, but imagine the unadulterated joy of distilling the essence of a aluminum dream into a single word... which would follow the rules of Scrabble. There are thousands of words... in multiple languages. Sure, a number is nifty, but a word, my friends, is a doorway to conversations, ideas, outrage, laughter... all of the best things about camping with friends.