Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-16-2019, 06:11 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2016 27' Flying Cloud
Chicora , Pennsylvania
Airstream – Living on it’s past?

A couple of things I must state right off the top.

1) I’m relatively new to the Airstream community. We bought our airstream used at in December 2018, it is a 2016 Flying Cloud..
2) I also have a Lance 2017 model 1985, that I will be selling after I get it home and cleaned up.

That said, I believe I’m in a position to offer my opinion on a few topics relative to both.
1) The Airstream, while quite unique has not entirely kept up with the others that are starting to lead the industry. (Artic Fox/Lance) These units are certified four season. (Fact – not my opinion)
2) The Airstream does not carry this certification. (Fact – not my opinion)
3) The Airstream uses a number of the same suppliers as Lance /Artic Fox, (Again, Fact, not my opinion)
4) The Lance has a ladder, either standard or optional capable of carrying bicycles using a very inexpensive rack. (Fact)
5) The Airstream has one supplier of bicycle racks. (I think this is fact, I’m not positive) This one supplier has found it okay to overcharge for its corner on the market. (My opinion)
6) I bought my Airstream used and my Lance new. Both have/ continue to have problems that I consider minor. I am relatively handy and fix most problems myself. I consider this fact since I’ve never taken either to a dealer to have work performed.

So here goes with my opinion:

The Airstream has a few simple (My opinion) things Airstream could do to improve live ability and improve its market share.
1) Make a rear ladder standard so the roof could be accessed safely.
2) Make the ladder strong enough to support a couple of bicycles or better yet, make the frame strong enough to allow it to support a standard Reese mounted bike rack.