Old 07-13-2005, 09:36 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
Transfer Switch

I'm getting ready to install the Carrier Air V roof unit and then the Generac 40 Quitepac generator. As the old setup in the Champion was a manual twistlock pigtail that I had to change from generator to shore power I've not seen any transfer switch setups. I don't need automatic but would like to be able to switch over from my interior panel under the sofa. What am I looking for?
Also the coach had a generator switch on the panel that had the lettering covered over and it's never had a generator installed. Wonder if I can use it rather than the ugly Generac remote switch? Any ideas?
The coach is going to the dealer to begin it's repair and installation work the end of the week... your input is valuable to me, thanks

Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Former Rolling Showroom & PuttLab (now party bus)
"I'm not an expert. But I did sleep in an Airstream last night."
GlenCoombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 09:42 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 26' Overlander
Woodstock , Georgia
Not sure about your first question- but the generator switch on the control panel should be able to be wired to remotely start your gen. The panel pulls out and you can look at the wiring ti see if it is already got any wires attached to that switch or if it needs new. Either way if the switch is there it should work. It is sure convenient. Also there is an a/c monitor light on that panel, that should come on when shore power or generator are working.

AIR #005
Please visit our blogs and web pages:
OUR AIRSTREAM PASSION! BLOG
RESTORING AN AIRSTREAM
Our AIRSTREAM and TIN CAN TOURIST Rallys
ALANSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 09:49 AM   #3
Site Team

, Minnesota