Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > General Motorhome Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-09-2010, 05:35 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Opelika , Alabama
Reflection..

I may seem stupid for asking, but I don't know, so I will ask.

Does the aluminum skin of the Airstream reflect a lot of heat away from the unit? Does it keep the interior cooler then units without it?

Newbie here.. I can ask stupid questions and get away with it..
AUstreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:27 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1994 21' Sovereign
Tucson , Arizona
Aluminum has reasonably good reflectivity, the bare metal will reflect about 80% of the light and heat, the clear coat may reduce that percentage slightly.

Better would be a paint with titanium dioxide pigment, which can reflect as much as 90-97% depending on the binder and formulation.
snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:30 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 27' Overlander
1973 27' Overlander
1963 19' Globetrotter
Naples , Florida
Everyone is allowed stupid questions,the question that is not asked is the stupid one.Welcome to the forums,someone here will be able to answer all your ?`s. Dave
easyride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 07:33 AM   #4
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
White reflects more heat than silver, so many people (us included) have painted the top panel of their roofs white to help.